White polish hen not doing so well

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by OkieRoost, Feb 11, 2014.

1. OkieRoost

OkieRoost Out Of The Brooder

Nov 29, 2013
    One of my white polish hens seems to be very sick. She will just stand there very stiff and won't move around much. I moved her and she fell down. We brought her inside because we thought she might have gotten too cold, but the other chickens seem fine. What do you all think?

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 11, 2014
  2. NCgirl21

NCgirl21 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 15, 2012
    Concord, North Carolina
    Hi,

I'm not very experienced so I hope someone else will comment soon with more insight to help. Does her crop feel full? Have you tried hand feeding her? Maybe a treat like scratch? One thing we've done for chickens that we are concerned about is to give them plain Oikos Greek Yogurt because it's supposed to have a lot of healthy nutrients in it for them.

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Have you added any chickens recently, or is she new, or have you moved to new ground? Has she been wormed recently?. Can you check her all over head to toe for lice and mites--some mites only come out after dark and hide in the cracks during daylight. Is she having any diarrhea or leg/balace issues? Has she laid an egg recently?

4. OkieRoost

Nov 29, 2013
    We have had her for several months, haven't moved or anything. She doesn't have mites/lice but she is having balance issues. She has medicated feed bit hasn't been wormed

5. Eggcessive

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio