white puss coming from eye several dead

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by js8cop, Oct 15, 2011.

1. js8cop

js8cop New Egg

Oct 15, 2011
    i am new to the chicken family. I have several chickens died and several have one swollen eye and hard time breathing. They all stop laying about two weeks ago should have new something was up then some died and now some have these sympthoms. wil they ever lay again if so how long will i have to wait for this tric antibiotic gets out of their system i am still treating all cant seperate all of the sick one do to not having the space. can use a little guidence hear. i have also cleaned out the white crap out of the really bad ones eyes. i also read that this flock might be carriers of this thing if so will the eggs be carriers and get us sick. i know i have a ot of questions but i am totally clueless
    jay

2. klmclain1

klmclain1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2011
    What are you treating them with? Normally, you have to toss the eggs for 14 days after you're done giving it to them. If it's respiratory, then it's my understanding they will ALWAYS be carriers so if you bring any more into your flock - they'll probably get it too. I've heard a lot of people talk about culling their entire flock. I'm sorry, I haven't experienced this so that's all the info I can provide. I'm sure someone much more knowledgeable will get with you shortly!

3. Chicken_Pauper

Chicken_Pauper Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 8, 2011
    Southern California
    Hi... May I suggest you use the SEARCH here on the website... Search the symptoms and you will get links to answers, threads. Watch for other symptoms in the chickens, check their poop.

What antibiotic did you give? Tetracyline (Duran 10) is given at 1 teaspoon per gallon of water... as much as all your chickens will drink in 24 hours, change the water and re-dose until three days after symptoms are gone or seven days, I believe.