Who here is into martial arts?

Discussion in 'Hobbies' started by phasianidae, Nov 18, 2011.

1. phasianidae

phasianidae Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 9, 2010
    I am trying to learn Judo and SAMBO. All self-taught currently. It must be working as last week I took down my nineteen year old older brother who is in the National Guard and trained for hand-to-hand combat [​IMG] SAMBO is really awesome, heres a video:

2. DuckLover2399

DuckLover2399 Avian American

Jun 7, 2011
    Oklahoma
    Oo! Ill send what's his face over here! I believe he is into martial arts!

3. punk-a-doodle

punk-a-doodle Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2011
    American Kenpo here. I really, really love our (husband does it too) instructor and class. The atmosphere is one of patience and encouragement. The philosophy of it is as interesting to me as learning the techniques and system.

4. Mountain Man Jim

Mountain Man Jim Chillin' With My Peeps

I've practice Aikido on and off for years. I love the art and the people are great. It has some similarities with Judo but, it's less competitive.

You really needs to practice with an experience instructor and group. An instructor because you don’t want to learn bad habits. A group because you need a practice partner and to train with people of different builds. Heck, how would you do a judo throw with a partner.

Jim

5. phasianidae

Nov 9, 2010
    Thanks for the replies!

Mountain Man Jim, I really would like to practice with a group and instructor but I dont know of any around here and time is really limited with work, school, and chickens. Hopefully someday.

6. P-Funk

P-Funk Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 20, 2011
    Franktown
    That picture makes you look like you just caught a left hook from Mike Tyson.

7. phasianidae

Nov 9, 2010
    Quote:L...O...L...

8. P-Funk

P-Funk Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 20, 2011
    Franktown