Who would have THUNK? That I would LOVE chickens this much?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Lil'ChickFarm, Aug 19, 2011.

1. Lil'ChickFarm

Lil'ChickFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2011
    I really just wanted to be a farmer. I wanted a barn with chickens to go out and smell that beautiful smell of farm poop, hehe.........[​IMG]
    I wanted to collect eggs daily. How FARMIE is that? (probably not a word:rolleyes: )
    I have always loved raising small animals.

In 25 years I have raised hamsters, mice, rats, bunnies, then on to lizards, bearded dragons. filling my incubator with eggs that hatched out these tiny adorable little lizards.
    Then I got into birds. I have been raising birds now for five years and I love it.
    Well I still desired that farm. We live in the city. How could we do that and be ok with our neighbors?
    I looked into all the rules and one day I went out and got 2 dozen fertile eggs of mixed breeds and stuck them in my incubator. Now I was going to be a chicken mommy.

Ok, so I found out all these things about chicken eggs incubating that is much different then lizards and all but two of these eggs rotted.

So I got two anyway, and put them in my bird aviary. OMG!! THE FUN BEGAN!!!
    I was like, these guys are FUNNY"!!![​IMG] [​IMG]

I would sit and watch them and laugh and think, this is more fun then the movies!!![​IMG] [​IMG]
    I had to have more. So the farmer that sold me the eggs, had just hatched some and I went over and picked up three more.
    Soon all five were together and too big for the house, so we built a CHICK Tractor.

They went outside and now came all the motherly worrying about if it rained or the temperature dropped at night. OMG!!! I was out there late at night, almost every night, checking on them, checking the weather, adding towels for warmth, or tarps for protection.[​IMG] Just lovin my babies.
    Now I am sitting in an outside chair during the day and watching my movies. [​IMG]