1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Who's Going to the TN Valley Fair Sept 5-14?

Discussion in 'Chickenstocks, Shows, Meet-Ups' started by wegotchickens, Aug 19, 2008.

1. wegotchickens

wegotchickens DownSouth D'Uccles & Silkies

Jul 5, 2007
    Sevier County, TN
    The registration is done and I've read the 'livestock catalog'.

But are there any experts out there who can tell me what they wished they knew when they first started showing poultry? I'm a total newbie...

Last edited: Aug 22, 2008
  2. DawnSuiter

DawnSuiter Chillin' With My Peeps

well.. this is probably what you DON"T want to hear, and we have only the Cocke Cty fair under our belts (which we got 1st & 2nd place) but I wish I had known:

1.My chickens would not be provided a roost, nor a cage big enough to spread their wings in
    2.That they would be kept on CEDAR bedding and a very small amount of it at that.
    3.Food would NOT be available very often, maybe once or twice a day in a very small amounts
    4.That it would cost the regular entrance fee to stop by and see my birds
    added: 5. That by the end of the week they would look sad & depressed, nervous with dander & it would take them a couple of days to adjust to being home again and roosting.

When we went to visit them, they practically tried to KILL themselves to get out of the cage to us... 2nd place was sticking his neck SO far through the bars, just to try & cuddle. These are friendly birds normally but NOT that friendly.

So... hey whos going? I'm going to stop by and see what's there...
    I'll post here which date I'm going.... or maybe we could coordinate a meeting... say ... at the Pink chicken! LOL.. no.. just kidding.. I don't know if the pink showgirl will be there.. [​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 22, 2008