1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

Why do alot of people give away Roosters?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Amitist, Aug 17, 2010.

1. Amitist

Amitist Songster

Aug 16, 2010
    Erlanger, KY
    Hi! I am kinda new to this "chicken" thing so I really need help. I bought 3 chicks, and I took care of them just as the manual said. One was yellow, and 2 of them were black and white. The yellow one was slightly bigger that the others when I bought it. I took the BEST care of them. But somehow the 2 black ones died [​IMG] The yellow one has grown pretty big, and now I think it might be a Roo'. It has these little spikes popping up from its head ( does that mean it will be a Roo'?) I went to BYC to get some good tips. Then I saw that people give away roosters (most of the time).. What should I do with it? It is the only chick I have, and its 80-90% Rooster. Should I give it to a breeder?

2. Well, in my town they are banned, completely.

Male ducks, okay.

Male turkeys, okay.

Male quail, okay.

Male geese, okay.

But no male chickens. I was VERY tempted to get four female (loud) ducks just to be cantankerous, but the kids outvoted me so we went with chickens instead.

3. Oven Ready

Oven Ready Songster

May 9, 2010
    Thailand
    Most people give away roosters for a few reasons.

1 - They don't lay eggs, so you feed a bird for no return (other than they look good)
    2 - A lot of folk aren't allowed to keep them (for local govt. byelaws and stuff) because they can make a lot of noise.
    3 - If you have too many, relative to the number of hens, they will fight each other - to the death sometimes.
    4 - They are generally more aggressive than hens so occaisionally you will see stories from people whose roosters have gone psycho and attack them - they are well armed.