why do they molt in the winter?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jstlitlome, Dec 10, 2013.

1. jstlitlome

jstlitlome Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2013
    Missouri
    I am new to chickens. My chickens are about 9 months old, and I wasnt expecting molting in my first year. But my EE has stopped laying and her head and cheek feathers are thin. she seems a little thin as well, but otherwise ok. I have switched them to a higher protein feed. So sad, because she is my only blue egg layer. My egg basket is looking so brown. [​IMG] I may have a couple other molters, but nothing visible. But the egg count is WAAY down, (I knew that was to be expected in the winter, but have opted for no white light)

My question is.. why would chickens molt when they most need their feathers?

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    I hear you.
    One breed I raise molts their first autumn, which is unusual.
    I also raised Jaerhons, They molt in December and January. Being from Norway, they probably say "YOU CALL THIS WINTER?" IT FEELS MORE LIKE A SAUNA TO US!!!
    Don't worry about them. They'll be fine.

Good job taking them off of layer feed and going to higher protein.

Layer feed should only be used for flocks that are all actively laying.
    Otherwise give a grower or finisher feed and oyster shell on the side for those laying.

3. jstlitlome

Mar 11, 2013
    Missouri
    Thank you! She is my favorite chicken. She loves me the most. Yesterday when I went into the run, she jumped in my lap and shivered. Which then convinced my weak heart to put a heat lamp in their coop....

I know they are fine, but its on a thermostat and only goes on at 20 degrees. I just felt so bad for her!

[​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 10, 2013
  4. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop