Why do two of my 16 chicks not have tails?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by kara_leigh, Oct 6, 2011.

1. kara_leigh

kara_leigh Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2011
    Bradleyville, MO
    Is it just a fluke, or is there possibly a reason?

I ordered 16 chicks - 4 each of Barred Rocks, Buff Orpington, Speckled Sussex, and Ameraucana. They were hatched on Aug 15th. One of the Barred Rocks, and one of the Speckled Sussex don't have tails, but the other ones do. Shouldn't they all have tails? Just curious. Thanks!

2. yankeefan

yankeefan Out Of The Brooder

Jun 18, 2011
    Upstate NY
    I'm no expert here but I noticed that of the 7 chicks that I ordered recently, (born 8/23), six of them have a noticeable hump of tail feathers and one (the rooster I ordered) had a much less pronounced tail.

Do the two of yours in question seem to have larger combs than the rest? My rooster has a more developed comb so far and it's what I look for to tell who I'm actually looking at.

I'm just curious, did you order all hens or straight run?

Good luck

3. Stacykins

Stacykins Overrun With Chickens

Jan 19, 2011
    Escanaba, MI
    They may just be slower growing. Araucanas are a breed that have a 'rumpless' trait. Rumpless chickens are literally missing their coccyx, or tailbone. You can feel that they are rumpless from day 1 because if you run your finger over their bums, you won't feel the nub of the tailbone like in normal, tailed chickens.

I doubt that they are rumpless though, just because hatcheries don't breed for that sort of thing, even in their "Araucanas" (some hatcheries call their EEs by the breed, other hatcheries call their EEs Ameraucanas), since it can reduce fertility. And it isn't something that is bred for in the breeds you listed either. I bet they'll get their tails soon enough!

4. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies