Why do you hatch eggs?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by cherylcohen, Nov 6, 2009.

1. cherylcohen

cherylcohen The Omelet Ranch

Sep 18, 2009
    SF East Bay CA
    I'm just curious...I'm a newbie and have 10 fabulous chickens that I got at about 18 weeks and they are just starting to lay. I see so many posts of people hatching their own.

My question?
    1. What is the purpose for hatching your own 9 I assume becuae you want to raise them from day one
    2. Or are you raising them to sell? If so are there alot of peole that do that.

Just seems like alot of people hatching chicks...are they all big raisers?

2. KellyHM

KellyHM Overrun With Chickens

Sep 10, 2008
    Lakeland, FL
    We hatch b/c we're addicted to it. Try it...I bet you can't stop! [​IMG]

3. cherylcohen

cherylcohen The Omelet Ranch

Sep 18, 2009
    SF East Bay CA
    It's sounds so fun, but then do you sell them or end up keeping all of them and then get an enormous flock?

4. Jess N Jeff

Jess N Jeff Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 25, 2009
    South San Diego, Cali
    Its addictive!!! I did it once and that was not enough. I have a small backyard flock. I will just get a few eggs at a time to satisfy my habit. Its amazing to watch something you hatched grow. I don't have kids so this is the closest thing for me.[​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  5. KellyHM

KellyHM Overrun With Chickens

Sep 10, 2008
    Lakeland, FL
    Quote:I sell most of the babies that I hatch unless I am working on a breeding project and am hatching specific ones.

6. vyshtia

vyshtia Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 1, 2009
    Norco, CA
    1. It's really amazing to watch a chick come from an egg and grow.
    2. It's really addicting.
    3. I stopped relying on Craigslist to find chickens when I saw how many people sell their "problem" chickens and keep the good ones - I don't want to buy someone else's problem.