why is frizzle balding?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by callitchickenlove, Jul 16, 2010.

1. callitchickenlove

callitchickenlove Out Of The Brooder

Oct 1, 2009
    This is not an emergency, but I'm concerned about it, what to do, and if anything can be done...

My poor little frizzle has lost so much of her feathers, she just looks pitiful....
    seems healthy otherwise, but I don't know what's causing this or what to do to make it stop...
    Anyone else had this problem or know anything about it?
    She is 16 months old -- last summer she was just beautiful and full feathered.
    Also, can anyone confirm that this IS, in fact, a hen? She/he? sometimes mounts other girls, and I can't tell, but something comes out, (it looks like?) that is trying to mate? (embarrassed by my ignorance, [​IMG] but I hope someone can help educate me. I'm still new to the chicken raising world...)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Sir Birdaholic

Sir Birdaholic Night Knight

It looks like it could be mites. Dust the (Roo, I think) with Sevin dust & repeat in 7-10 days.

3. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Since he's 16 months old, looks like it's his first hard core molt to me. Feed him probiotics, plain yogurt or buttermilk with chopped boiled egg (extra protein) in his feed to make a mash and give it to him to eat.

4. LindsayB

LindsayB Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2008
    Cypress, Texas
    It looks as though there are pin feathers coming back out. I think he/she is just going through a very heavy molt.

5. Zahboo

Zahboo Simply Stated

Feb 3, 2009
    Hope Mills, NC
    I'm gonna say a hen. To be 16 months, that's a normal sized comb (but who knows, a better angle could help. I would say moulting.

6. callitchickenlove

callitchickenlove Out Of The Brooder

Oct 1, 2009
    Thank you all for the help!