why won't my chickens go I to the coop at night?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by dawnk6877, May 2, 2016.

1. dawnk6877

dawnk6877 New Egg

Mar 14, 2016
    Hello! I am very new to raising chickens. My chickens are now 3 months old and they have been on their coop area for a little over 3 weeks now.we've raised them from babies! I've ready tirelessly trying to find a solution to why they are not going in to roost at night. I've tried putting a light in the coop just before dark. I've tried locking them in for a week and then again for 3 days when that didn't work. I've checked their roost to make sure they have enough room. Their food and water is currently in the coop. I've watched them prance right into their coop during the day to eat and drink. so I know the ladder is not the issue it did take them some time to figure the ladder out. But every single night I have to go out and put them in at night they huddle on top of eachother in a corner of their run I've been putting them in every night for 2 weeks. My husband insists on leaving them and letting them figure it out. But I'm afraid of breaking a cycle to have them learn. What do I do? Do I let them figure it out and sleep outside? When will they learn? I've also tried getting them in the coop at night with their favorite treat but they just come right back out thanks in advance for your help

2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Lots of Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    That's pretty typical behavior for chickens that age unfortunately. I have always had to round mine up for a few months. They start to go in by themselves as they reach sexual maturity. Some say lights will help or treats. To me it's similar to kids wanting to stay out late at night. I always keep rounding mine up, I'm the mom and it's part of my job to put them to bed. Hen raised chicks are put to bed by the mom hen.

3. chickengeorgeto

chickengeorgeto Overrun With Chickens

Dec 25, 2012