Why won't my hens lay?!?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by balingmomma88, Oct 15, 2015.

1. balingmomma88

balingmomma88 Out Of The Brooder

May 27, 2015
    Lake villa, il
    I have five hens

1 white leghorn - 25 weeks old
    1 red sex link - 25 weeks old
    1 Easter egged - 23 weeks old
    2 buff orbingtons - 22 weeks

I have yet to get a single egg from anybody. The girls get fresh food and water daily. And they free range at least 5-6 hours a day except on the weekends. My two oldest girls came from a local farm and the other three came from a hatchery. Am I doing something wrong? The roosting bars are right next to the nesting boxes ... Is that bad? Or should I put a few fake eggs in the nesting boxes? This is my first time and I'm getting really discouraged!

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    They won't lay because they're from 22-25 weeks in October when day length is getting shorter. The length of daylight getting to the pineal gland, when decreasing, tells them it's not time to lay. Lengthening days means to lay. Acturllay more accurately, lengthening days stimulates hormones to promote sexual maturity.

Have your seen a change in their combs? Darker, larger?
    Pick the pullets up and check the space between the pelvic bones. When the space widens, they're at point of lay (POL).

3. Pyxis

Pyxis Dark Sider Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    It could be that they just aren't ready yet - have you noticed their combs growing a bit and turning red? That is an early sign that they are getting ready to lay.