Why won't my indian runners lay! What am I doing wrong! Please help!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by sophster1989, Nov 9, 2014.

1. sophster1989

sophster1989 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 14, 2014
    Hi there i bought 3 x indian runners on away 21st at 3 weeks old which will now make them approx 27/28 weeks! I am very new to ducks but from their quacks and tail feather curl i have 2 girls and 1 boy! They live in my shed with my 3 chickens I've tried sererating them but they all want to be together! I feed them a mix of corn and layer pellets and they free range but I'm not getting any eggs? Please could someone help me out as to why? I let them out about 8 in the morning and they go down the field but I can't see any eggs? Am I not feeding them enough? Or is it coz their with my chickens.They have a cardboard box to lay in but they seem to just sleep in that. Is it cos of the daylight hours? I researched that and got the impression it didn't matter so much for runners! Please help :)

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Hi!

I have had quite a long couple of days. Welcome to the Duck Forum!

Here are a few ideas, from reading your post.

They do seem old enough to lay. Is the drake constantly mating with one or both of them? Overmating can interfere with laying.

Many ducks do not use boxes to lay in. They will make their own nests, or just put the egg wherever they feel like.

They also can hide eggs. What season is it where you are? Spring or fall?

Runners may lay eggs after 8 a.m. If you are letting them out into a field, they could be laying them in the field, and a critter comes by at night and eats the egg.

How much corn, how much pellets? I would not feed much corn - I would stick with something with more nutrition unless they need the calories for heat in winter, and then I would keep the amount of corn fairly low.

Last edited: Nov 9, 2014
  3. sophster1989

Sep 14, 2014