1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

why won't they lay?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by nobbychick, Nov 3, 2008.

1. nobbychick

nobbychick New Egg

Nov 3, 2008
    East Texas coast
    I'm a new chicken farmer. We have seven young Australorps and five older Production Reds (plus cocky rooster) that were allegedly laying every day. Well, two weeks later and we've had a total of three eggs! What's going on?

Also, how does one train the chickens to poop on the roost instead of in the nests? Or am I expecting too much from chickens?

2. Wynette

Wynette Moderator Staff Member

Sep 25, 2007
    Michigan
    First of all: [​IMG]

As the daylight hours become shorter & shorter, chickens go into "recuperation mode" and start to lay much less. At least most of them do. It's nature's way of giving them some time to recuperate and get ready for the next egg-laying season. If you put a light on them in the morning to extend their daylight hours, they may begin to lay for you. It's up to you regarding doing this; I choose not to, as I like my girls to get a break.

It could be that's all that's going on.

As far as them roosting in the nest boxes...what I did was put shoe boxes in the nest boxes at night, and removed them in the morning so they could use the nests for laying. It took several weeks of this, but they finally were broken of the habit.

Good luck!! [​IMG]

3. Dottie Pratt

Dottie Pratt Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 4, 2008
    Arkansas
    Just wanted to say Hello and welcome.
    Ther is so much good info. on BYC.
    I'm new to chickens and don't feel like my answers would be helpful. Still learning.

I'm sure you will get good answers.

[​IMG]

Dottie

4. jossanne

jossanne Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 11, 2008
    Gila, New Mexico