Wild water fowl eggs

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by chalis, Feb 10, 2016.

1. chalis

chalis Out Of The Brooder

Jan 9, 2016
    Does anyone know where to get wild water fowl eggs for hatching such as manderine, teal, wood duck, pin tail, ruddy, even call ducks? I would like to atleast be able to get six eggs if not more so rrsonable prices if possable. Thanks

2. cavemanrich

cavemanrich Overrun With Chickens

Apr 6, 2014
    Melrose Park Illinois
    Just find a broody wild waterfowl. and at night just go and STEAL HER EGGS. [​IMG][​IMG]

I just could not help myself BUT ABOVE ALL WANTED TO WELCOME YOU HERE... [​IMG]

3. chalis

Jan 9, 2016
    Thanks, im just getting started on this adventure. It gives me a hobby while my husband drives truck. All my birds are pets. I just really like the off the wall, bright colored, odd balls. I guess is a way to put it. Lol

4. cavemanrich

Apr 6, 2014
    Melrose Park Illinois
    Do you currently have chickens ??? I wanted to keep ducks as well but housing a mixed flock of chickens and ducks is just not possible for my small area. Ducks also need some water source like a small pool or pond which I do not have. My chicks are just pets also. [​IMG]

5. Tevyes Dad

Tevyes Dad Leader of the Quack Premium Member

Apr 22, 2014
    Montana

Chalis, first of all [​IMG] . Just to make sure you have the background information, cavemanrich was making a joke. Literally following his advice might get you a steep fine, or even jail time. I might be "Mr. Obvious" here, but it is better to be safe than sorry. [​IMG]

There are breeders who have these ducks (with the correct paperwork) for sale though. I don't personally have any of the "wild" breeds, but I imagine you could get some info starting here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/476437/mandarin-duck-thread-for-posting-pictures-and-discussing

Good luck! [​IMG]

6. chalis

Jan 9, 2016