1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

will an early hatching duckling live?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by princessSilva, Oct 27, 2014.

1. princessSilva

princessSilva New Egg

Oct 27, 2014
    chaparral, NM
    Hi everyone, this is my first time hatching duck eggs in my incubator. I have had so many problems so far! I thought all my eggs were probably dead. I bought an egg Turner that ended up not turning the eggs, the temperature got way too high, and now I have 2 eggs that are beginning to hatch and I've only put them in on October 4th, that's only 23 days along and from everything I've read it should take 28 days. One started last night and I can see in the hole that there are a lot of veins (or what look like veins) and a yellow thing that I am assuming would be the yolk? Do babies that hatch this early ever survive? It hasn't done anything at all for over 12 hours now, it's still alive, I see it breathing and can see the beak moving. Should I help it? I know you aren't supposed to but I feel like it's just going to sit in the egg and die. I really am unsure of what to do at this point. If anyone can give me some advice I would greatly appreciate it!

2. alequeen

alequeen New Egg

Oct 27, 2014