Will feeding more protein produce more eggs?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by DoloresRun, Dec 10, 2010.

1. DoloresRun

DoloresRun Out Of The Brooder

Dec 2, 2010
    Traralgon
    Hi All

I am very new to all f this backyard farming stuff so I have a question that maybe someone can answer for me?

I have five chickens. 2 Isa Browns (about 11 months old) and 3 Barnevelders (about 14 months) They have been really great layers but a while back I posted that I was worried that I wasn't feeding them correctly! I got all sorts of great advise and so I decided to start adding extra protein. Well after doing that I started being inundated with eggs!!!! I get five a day most days and I just wondered if the extra protein was the cause? Or do I just have the best egg laying chickens ever [​IMG]

Anyway, any insight would be great [​IMG]

Thanks for your help in advance!

Dolores in Oz

2. A.T. Hagan

A.T. Hagan Don't Panic

Aug 13, 2007
    North/Central Florida
    Well, if you were underfeeding them before then correcting their nutritional deficiencies may well cause them to lay more eggs. What were you feeding them before and what are you feeding them now? Being in Oz you're also getting longer and longer days these last couple of months now aren't you?

3. jerseygirl1

jerseygirl1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2009
    Orange County, NY
    A.T. Hagan :

Well, if you were underfeeding them before then correcting their nutritional deficiencies may well cause them to lay more eggs. What were you feeding them before and what are you feeding them now? Being in Oz you're also getting longer and longer days these last couple of months now aren't you?

[​IMG]

I don't know why,but I can't stop lauging over this one​

4. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens