Will mama hen ever leave the nest?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by upmycreek, Mar 21, 2012.

1. upmycreek

upmycreek Out Of The Brooder

Apr 7, 2011
    Hi all,

8 new baby chicks arrived in the mail this Tuesday and I stuck them in with my broody silkie hen (during the day!) and she loves all 8 the second she saw them. This is my first time baby chicken raising and I have tried searching how the whole process works, but the pages and threads that I have found are only about the initial introduction. My hen is a first time "mom" so I am worried that she doesn't know what to do.

My question is when will mama leave the nesting area and start showing them the ropes of chickendom? I have food (starter) and water close by and I have also putting a mash near her. She doesn't ever seem to move. She was sitting for 20 days prior to me sticking the babies with her and she has lost a lot of weight so I am concerned for her, but don't want to overreact and mess up the natural process. Reassurement and advice is very much appreciated.

The fun part... Chick Pictures!
    Exploring their new house...
    [​IMG]
    First time meeting their "mom"
    [​IMG]

All 8 are under her in about 30 seconds...
    [​IMG]

2. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon