Will the eggs be OK? Input please...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by BrownEggFan, Jul 16, 2010.

1. BrownEggFan

BrownEggFan Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2010
    Central PA
    Ok, so I have a hen that went broody and got tired of fighting with her. Like the saying goes, "if you can't beat them, join them", I decided to add 6 more eggs to her clutch. She has been sitting on the eggs 3 days now; HOWEVER, when I went to collect the eggs this evening, she was setting on the eggs that were laid today and hers were cool to the touch! [​IMG] I'm new to chickens and incubating, so I'm looking for some input. I know that the eggs can cool off while mama goes for a drink, eat, etc. but how long is too long this early in the process?? I'm so worried...[​IMG]

2. gmendoza

gmendoza Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2010
    Rock Hill,SC
    First of all,you need to isolate her is some hidey hole of her own.That way she cant escape and set on other eggs but the ones already under her butt.I have 3 broody hens and two broody ducks,but I am holding them back for now because of this southern heat.

The hidey hole needs to be big enough for her and a nesting box,food and water,and room so she can come out and stretch and relieve herself.Ours is 3'x3'x2'high.

Heres a pic of one of our past broodys.

[​IMG]

She had enough room for all her needs and her own nesting box.

3. BrownEggFan

Apr 25, 2010
    Central PA
    gmendoza, thanks for the input. I'll try to get a small coop / run built for her over the weekend. Until then, I'll just check more frequently and remove any of the fresh eggs that have been laid. I have marked all the eggs she is sitting on so I can identify them. I have two nesting boxes in my coop for my 6 hens, so I thought she might be ok staying in with the main flock.

Does anyone else have any additional advice??

4. BigDaddy'sGurl

BigDaddy'sGurl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2010
    Wilkesboro NC