will they grow out of this?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by showjumper_girl2002, Oct 7, 2011.

1. showjumper_girl2002

showjumper_girl2002 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2011
    Florida
    i have 2 scovy's that are a little over 2 months that i've had since the day they hatched. these are my first ducks so i'm new to their personalities [​IMG] they've been with me all the time since they hatched and are very cuddly and lovy and still fallow me around. however, if i approach them standing up they don't want me to touch them but as soon as i sit down they come running and love on me and even sit and nap in my lap [​IMG] they love being cuddled and do that vibrating happy thing in my lap and sitting next to me as they attempt to preen me [​IMG] so obviously they aren't afraid of me and enjoy attention. i'm just wondering if they will grow out of being afraid of me approaching them standing up as they get older?

here they are...gizmo(the hen) is my lap duck and always hops right in my lap and loves on me. waddles is less skidish when i approach standing up and he also loves being loved on. sorry it's sideways i took it on my phone and it came out that way lol

[​IMG]

2. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop
    I don't know if they grow out of it much, my ducks seem to run away when I bend down unless I have food, but seem content on the lap.

3. AngelV

AngelV Out Of The Brooder

Oct 7, 2011
    Pinellas Park Fl
    Hey there Awesome Scovy's [​IMG]

I have 2 ducks 7mths old.. they do the same thing.. Maybe when we stand and walk towards them, more of a dominating thing.

4. showjumper_girl2002

showjumper_girl2002 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2011
    Florida
    Quote:thanks! [​IMG]

5. SassyKat6181

SassyKat6181 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2010
    Western Mass