Will they learn horizontal nipple??

Discussion in 'Quail' started by RobPS, Jan 23, 2017.

1. RobPS

RobPS Out Of The Brooder

Jan 9, 2017
    Hi folks. Newbie here with 8 female quales that I just introduced into my first quail coop (never raised other birds either).

I built a 5 gal bucket feeder using horizontal nipples. So far I have not seen any birds using it. Not sure how often they drink, but I also don't sit out there for hours on end watching.

My water nipples are a little hard to get to for me, but if I remove the floor from the area above them, I can reach in and "force" a bird to tap it. I tried that with one bird but she wasn't too keen on the idea and didn't drink any of the water that came out. So then I just used my finger and tapped the nipples until water dropped out. A couple birds watched but didn't pursue them after.

My question is -- do I just wait and hope that one of these 8 birds will peck, get water, and then the others will catch on? Do I need to have nightly training sessions? What does it take for quail to figure these things out?

Couple of pics:[​IMG][/IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. slkyldy4evr

slkyldy4evr Out Of The Brooder

Dec 29, 2016
    America
    With my chickens, I just let water out of it with my finger whenever they were around and eventually they got the hang of it.

3. RobPS

RobPS Out Of The Brooder

Jan 9, 2017
    Thanks. In my case, it's a lot harder to do that due to where I located the watering nipples. I can put a skinny stick through the hardware cloth to activate the nipples rather easily, but to put my hands in there means that I have to go in from above... which means removing the pine shavings from the "upstairs" section, sliding out that floor/ceiling, then reaching in from above.

I suppose that's even more of a disruption than just poking a stick in there, so I'll try that a few times. Maybe they'll catch on?

4. Binki

Binki Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2015
    Ontario, Canada