Will this Hen come around?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Tiffany1804, Sep 13, 2011.

1. Tiffany1804

Tiffany1804 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 11, 2011
    I'm new to Chicken owning I currently have 1 Buff Orp, 1 Silver Laced Wyndott (currently trying to find her a new home),2 Buff Silkies, 1 Silver Polish, and my newest add in a Black Austrolorp. I just introduced the Black Austo to the flock today (I'm still keeping the Silkies and Polish in a seperate fenced part of the yard so they can be seen but not pecked the Buff Orp still hasn't gotten used to them. When I let the Black Austro in the yard to free range Daisy and Speckles seemed to except her but she wouldn't flock with them. She ran to the bushes and has stayed there all day. Now to my question will she coop herself like my other 2 do and will she every come around to liking our existing girls? I am also concerened because she is terrified of people. The farmer she was with never interacted with them so he had to catch them with nets! Will she ever get used to me? I'm thinking maybe I should sell her at an upcoming chicken swap meet or trade her for a different one. I'm concerened she won't fit in and also not sure she will use the nest box.

2. mtnhens4

mtnhens4 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2011
    Western NC
    Treats may help her come around if you can close up the others so that it's safe for her to get them, it may take awhile but they really like treats!

3. Tiffany1804

Tiffany1804 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 11, 2011
    Quote:She won't even come out for treats. My other Hens LOVE bread and mealworms I tried both and nothing. I even attempted grapes, and cabbage but she is not interested. She wasn't treated like a pet with previous owner so I don't think she understands what I'm doing when I'm trying to get her to take the treat. My other hens will chase me down if they think I have something.

4. mamabigbird

mamabigbird Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 11, 2010