Windows, roosts, venting, & insulation for coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by flockof5, Apr 22, 2008.

1. flockof5

flockof5 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 3, 2008
    Hi, newbie here. I know we need window(s) in our coop. Does it need to be a real window? Or can DH cut a square, and cover it with heavy duty plastic? (His idea). How would he let air in? Do you put a screen on it?

Also, can I see some roost pics? Does a roost need to be round? How high should it be? Our chicks are a few weeks old and have all their feathers.

And finally, venting...what do you do to vent? Do you cover the venting with something that allows air in, but nothing else? How big should it be?

And lastly, I live where it gets really hot in summer (high 90's), and can get a bit below freezing in winter. Do I need insulation? What do you cover the insulation with?

Thanks!

ETA: I forgot....can I cover the plywood floor with contact paper, that overlaps? To make clean up easier? Will that work?

Last edited: Apr 22, 2008
  2. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    Does it need to be a real window? Or can DH cut a square, and cover it with heavy duty plastic? (His idea). How would he let air in? Do you put a screen on it?

You need light, but (as you discuss later in your post) you also really need good ventilation. May as well get maximum bang for your buck, and while you're cutting holes in your walls make them serve both purposes [​IMG]

Simplest thing is: cut hole, securely affix 1/2" hardware-cloth over it to keep predators out, then make a window panel that can hinge or slide over it, using a piece of clear plstic in a wooden frame.

Does a roost need to be round? How high should it be? Our chicks are a few weeks old and have all their feathers.