1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Wing Clipping

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Lovemy3hens, Dec 2, 2010.

1. Lovemy3hens

Lovemy3hens Out Of The Brooder

Nov 13, 2010
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Since I'm new to keeping chickens I've just discovered that some people actually cut their birds wings. I've heard of doing this for parrots and other smaller birds but not chickens. I keep doves and have their wings clipped to keep from flying. But what purpose does it serve to chickens? Do you clip your chickens wings?

2. Kittymomma

Kittymomma Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 9, 2009
    Olympia, WA
    Quote:It's the same as for other birds--to limit their ability to fly. Often it's to keep them in a fenced backyard and out of the neighbors landscaping (or dogs mouth) during freeranging time. A lot of people don't have covered runs too and some chickens, particularly younger ones, can fly quite well and will escape their run if the wings aren't clipped. I don't usually clip my birds wings since they freerange and I think they have a better chance getting away from the occasional predator if they can get up into the trees.

3. pgpoultry

pgpoultry Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2009
    Wales
    I never clip wings as I free range my birds.

I keep mainly Brahmas who are so heavy that they tend to run (and that very infrequently) if they are wanting to get away. My biggest boy, Whitey is, I believe, far too heavy to fly.

If you are considering clipping wings think carefully as clipping can lead to bleeding from the feather base if not done carefully, and you will stop your birds from escaping predators by flying into trees.