Winter and My Pekins

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by briknstone, Nov 12, 2016.

1. briknstone

briknstone New Egg

May 26, 2016
    I am posting with some info and asking for some answers.

My first time as a Duck Owner-All Pekins- originally 2 chicks as gifts from someone I made an enclosure for (I am a contractor)- then the lady preferred chickens over ducks- and I got 2 more chicks, right around Easter- they are all the same age- so I have 3 hens and a Drake- perfect combo- I get about 12-15 eggs per week, and even with 2 boys- running out of things to make with eggs! Luckily we have some neighbors that want them also!

I have a nice little (12 x 12) enclosure for them with a mini barn for nesting (2' x 8' x 3.5'T) and they have a water dish, food dish and a wading pool- During the day they are out foraging in the "woods" a 3/4 acre of wooded area on my property. We have a creek that sometimes runs dry in summer- and a KOI pond they get into. They have a regular routine-out in the morning and put themselves in at dusk. I lock them up at night
    I live in N IL- so its starting to get on the cold side.

My main question #1 is: Do I need a heat lamp for them- and when do I need it?

Right now the enclosure is full chicken wire- with a plywood top on one side so there is a dry area if it rains/snows. My intention was to completely CLEAR plastic off the enclosure- both TOP and Sides- to make a terrarium type enclosure..only the door would be exposed,and I would line the bottom with straw- to keep it dry. Since I have had them- Ive been using sand in the bottom of enclosure because its easy to power wash the sand, turn it, add more and it drains well, so rarely gets "muddy" even if they are spilling or splashing water from the pool.

I just had an electrician buddy add power- so NOW I have options for light and /or heat.

Questions #2- should I leave ANY light on for them, if even to extend "daylight" as its dark about 5:30 now.