Winter care for my Muscovy and Indian runner mix

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Madeleinepb, Oct 23, 2016.

1. Madeleinepb

Madeleinepb Just Hatched

Oct 23, 2016
    Hubert, NC
    I have two ducks.
    This is my first time having ducks as pets.
    I have read from multiple websites on winter care for ducks.
    What I am wondering is that I would like personal experiences on how I should care for them during this winter.
    I currently just moved to Hubert, NC and I dont know the winters are here like.

2. dotknott

dotknott Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2016
    Rhode Island
    My Coop
    I'm in New England and don't too much special, except put cracked corn in the bottom of their feed bowls in the afternoon. The corn is easy to convert into energy for them, and eating it last means they have it overnight.

Last edited: Oct 23, 2016
  3. FoodFreedomNow

FoodFreedomNow Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm in KY. I have Muscovies and really like them...and I like Runners, too. What do yours look like?

I remove the kiddie pools when it gets cold enough to freeze (for obvious reasons, lol) and just put out a couple of rubber tubs that are deep enough for nares cleaning but too small for swimming; if they can get into the water - icy or not - they'll swim, and their feathers can freeze. [​IMG] The rubber tubs are nice because you can break the ice out as needed, or add warm water to melt the ice.

Muscovies are very cold hardy and unless it's bitterly cold, they'll go about their business as usual. I do put some extra bedding in their coop for insulation, too, and keep an eye on their caruncles to make sure there's no frostbite. My rooster, who had a huge comb, got frostbite and lost a couple of tips, but the Muscovies were all fine last winter.

Last edited: Oct 25, 2016
    1 person likes this.
  4. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England