winter care

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by kdwag, Oct 9, 2012.

1. kdwag

kdwag Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2012
    Northwest Ohio
    I'm new to chickens and my girls are 5 weeks today and still in their brooder. I'm hoping to move them to their coop in a week or two. Do you need to put food and water inside their coop at night. I'm still not sure what to expect over the winter as far as what they will need inside and outside in their run.

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    This depends on how you manage them. If you let them out to where the food and water is shortly after they wake up, you do not need food and water in the coop. They’ll act starved when you let them out, but they will be fine. If you leave them locked up for hours after sunrise, you probably should leave food and water in the coop. They will not eat or drink at night if it is dark. It's how soon they can get to food and water after they wake up that is important. In your area, I'd guess you get nights maybe 15 hours long, so they will be hungry when they wake up.

As far as what to expect, a lot of that depends on your coop, your set-up, and how you manage them. You are going to get snow in that area. Mine don’t like snow when they first see it, but after a few days most of them get used to it and will go out walking in it. Mine go out foraging with the temperatures below zero Fahrenheit as long as a cold wind is not blowing. If a cold wind is blowing, they seek shelter. I’ve had chickens walk through 9” of snow to check out the compost heap. Mine don’t like snow the first couple of days, but they do get used to it if it sticks around a few days.

If your coop is big enough, everything should be fine. If your coop is tight, you probably want to arrange a place outside where the wind is blocked and maybe keep snow from building up. A lot of people use tarps around their run to do this.