Winter coop paranoia

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by WoooChickenses, Dec 2, 2009.

1. WoooChickenses

WoooChickenses New Egg

Dec 2, 2009
    Hi i'm new to the message board and new to chickens as well.

This will be my first winter with them and I have 6 golden laced wyandotte hens
    and live in Minnesota.

I built the coop with 1.5" foam insulation sandwiched between plywood to try
    and keep the cold out a bit.

I have read some posts that say you shouldn't heat a coop...because if the heat
    goes out in the winter they may all die. And some that say you should.

I was just wondering what peoples experiences were in colder climates.

Also... I did take a line voltage thermostat and rig it to a heat lamp in the
    coop.. ( 4 x 6 feet coop ) so if it drops below 35ish degrees it should click on
    the bulb. But now that I have i'm sitting here thinking... chickens make a lot
    of dust.... has anyone ever heard of a chicken coop explosion?

2. CityChook

CityChook Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2008
    Minneapolis, MN
    My Coop
    First of all, let me say
    [​IMG]
    from the Twin Cities!

There are many differing opinions regarding heating a coop, even here in MN. Much of the decision will depend on how many chickens you have, the size of your coop, the sunlight that it gets, the hardiness of your breeds, the extent of your ventilation, etc. Glad to hear that you insulated -- that will definitely be to your advantage.

More important than heat is keeping your coop draft free. It's quite remarkable how much nicer it feels, even at 0F, when the air is still. Put ventilation up high, because even when it's really cold you're still going to need it. You don't want that cold air blowing on the chickens, especially while they roost at night.