1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

winter eggs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by blue1, Sep 25, 2011.

1. blue1

blue1 New Egg

Feb 1, 2011
    if i put a light in the coop will my hens lay through the winter if not how can i get them to lay during the winter thanks for info

2. cravenchx

cravenchx Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2011
    Piedmont of NC
    So much info on here. It seems most people
    who use artificial light, start it at around 4 am.
    I have seen people say you need a dim light in case
    they fall off the roost and need to see to get back
    up. I'm still learning myself.[​IMG]

3. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Adding "some" additional hours, basically in the early morning, is a pretty common practice. However, there's no real substitute for winter laying breeds. Also, all hens need sleep and rest to be at their best and to keep warm in the winter. Some portion of the feed calories need to go toward staying warm, not egg production. So, some reduction in winter production is usually viewed as acceptable and normal. Pushing them with 16 hours or more of light in the winter is not something I choose to do.

4. Cattitude

Cattitude Chillin' With My Peeps

Last year's spring chickens started laying in October/November, and have laid all year until this month when they molted. They surely deserved the break! But I didn't provide any artificial light for them at all. I didn't even have the security light in the front yard this past winter. I'm wondering if this year's pullets are going to do the same thing. It might have been because they were mostly Silkie Xs.

5. Breezy_Living

Breezy_Living Out Of The Brooder

May 19, 2011
    Northern California