Winter heated waterer

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by lauren212, Sep 16, 2016.

1. lauren212

lauren212 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 15, 2016
    Ontario
    This is my first time having chickens. Where I libe the temperature can go to -30 and sometimes -40 degrees C over night. Most night aren't that cold but we sometimes have winters that are -20 for weeks. I have 5 chickens. What is the best heated waterer that I could make or buy. I am usually always home but one week in the winter I like to go away for a week somewhere warm so I would like a large enough reservoir so who ever checks in on my chickens doesn't have to fill water daily. Also, I will not be putting any heat lamp in the coop. Any ideas? Thanks

2. Murphy212

Murphy212 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 5, 2013
    There are lot of ideas on this site for heated waterers. Do a search and you will be overwhelmed with the creative ideas people use. I don't live in an area that gets as cold as yours....I live in the southeastern US and I bought a 3 gallon electric heated bucket. I use a heavy weight extension cord and put it in the run. It has a thermostat in it so it only heats up when the temp falls below freezing. It works for my situation, weather, and coop/run but I don't know about yours.
    Maybe some of our Canadian friends will let you know what they use.
    Good luck this winter....-20 to -40 is way way out of my experience and comfort zone! :)

3. lauren212

Aug 15, 2016
    Ontario
    I've done alot of searching but it's hard to sort out on the forums who is living in areas similar to mine. I was told by someone local that the red and white heaters will not work here and that they freeze solid at the top. I've been looking into the stock stank heaters or a deicer but don't know what everyone else is using. Also read a lot about the horizontal water nipples but not sure if those would freeze as well....

4. tmarsh83

tmarsh83 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2015
    NEIN