Winter housing ? ? ?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Arielle, Nov 26, 2011.

1. Arielle

Arielle Chicken Obsessed

Feb 19, 2011
    Massachusetts, USA
    I'm new to muscovies and need a little help with winter housing. How large should the house be for 3 muscovies in New England. THey free range during the day. ANd sleep in a plastic box in my house currently. WOuld like to get them outside before winter sets in and have the house be secure from coyote, etc.

Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
  2. Rain Rider

Rain Rider Out Of The Brooder

May 17, 2009
    Get one of those chain link dog kennels. 10'x10' would be fine. Get a large dog house and put it in the kennel. Use chicken wire or more chain link to make a roof over the kennel. This will keep out the coons. Line the bottom with stones/bricks/railroad ties/etc. to discurage preditores digging in. Stack straw around the dog house, the straw will last all winter and can be composted in your, or a friends, garden in the spring. this way you can lock them up every night. Its not cheep to set up, but a good long term set up. Shopping on Craigs List will save you a lot of money too. This is the set up I have and it is working very well. You will find the 8'x8' kennel to be too small because of how much room the straw takes up.

3. dianaross77

dianaross77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2010
    Grand Blanc, MI
    This is what I made for my ducks to sleep in. Mine free range all day and go to bed at night on their own and wait to be locked up. Do not count on chicken wire to keep your ducks safe. Raccoons can tear through it easily.
    [​IMG]