Winter lighting

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by h8snags, Nov 5, 2011.

1. h8snags

h8snags Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2011
    Murray, UT
    Ok, we woke up to snow this morning, and it got me thinking about the lighting and egg production. Since I am new to this I have done alot of research, and am trying to figure out which route to take. Do I turn the lights on a few hours only in the morning? Or do I do it both in the morning and evening? We haven't installed any lights yet, but we're thinking of putting one in the coop and one in the covered run, both on timers... What do you do?

2. AlienChick

AlienChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2010
    Glasgow, KY
    I plan on adding lighting a few hours early in the morning before the sun comes up.

I generally do not want to add the lighting after the sun goes down because my chickens use the fading sunlight to get settled in for the night.

If the light suddenly goes OFF at night, they may not be settled in enough and will cause some stress.

[​IMG]

3. h8snags

Feb 23, 2011
    Murray, UT
    Quote:That's what I was thinking!

4. Rosaleen

Rosaleen Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2011
    Danville, Vermont
    In think it depends on how your coop is set up. My coop is on the back wall of the barn which goes out to the run through a window. The girls come in a little before dusk and get settled on their favorite roosts. I get home from work around four o'clock and turn the overhead light on and turn on the radio. After they come in I go out and lock up the window. Then I go back out around 9:30 or so and turn out all the light and radio. The barn is not a far distance from the house so going back and forth will not be an issue. Keeping a path open when the snow arrives is my only headache.

5. srothove

srothove Out Of The Brooder

Nov 5, 2011
    I've read that SOFT white florescent lighting is the type of light to use. Any thoughts on this?

6. Five Dog Farm