Winter Precautions

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by redsoxrule, Sep 5, 2007.

1. redsoxrule

redsoxrule Out Of The Brooder

May 31, 2007
    Rockport,MA
    Is there any special needs for my chickens this winter?
    An info. on the subject would be great:)

2. DrakeMaiden

DrakeMaiden Overrun with Drakes

Jun 8, 2007
    Kitsap County, WA
    What sort of climate do you live in? How cold does it get in the winter? How short do the days get? I'm not an expert, but if you answer those questions it will help someone else answer your question better. [​IMG]

3. Newchickenmom&kids

Newchickenmom&kids Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2007
    Illinois
    I think this depends on the breed of chickens you have and your coop/run set up. If you could give more information it may help those with experience to assist you in answering your questions.

Thanks drakemaiden....forgot about the climate part too!! Duh!! [​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 5, 2007
  4. redsoxrule

May 31, 2007
    Rockport,MA
    I live in MA. It gets pretty cold here some times. Most winters it snows quite a bit and we have some Nor' Easters. My coop is small, i only have four birds (Rhode Island Reds) Also the days get to only about 10- 11 hours in the winter.

Hope this info help you :)answer my questions

THANKS!!!!
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 9, 2007
  5. Standard Hen

Standard Hen Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2007
    Massachusetts