Wintering Flock in a Root Cellar?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by zaphod1130, Jan 3, 2013.

1. zaphod1130

zaphod1130 New Egg

Jan 3, 2013
    I am new to chickens. I recently took over my family's farm and have a rooster and nine chickens. I built them a nice coop and run, but have moved them inside the barn for the winter. The thing is, the barn is very old, about 150 years old and starting to fall into disrepair, and it is cold.

Inside the barn, I have an underground room, which was an ice room according to my dad. It is much like the root cellar we have on another part of the farm, and my father says that they would load this room up with ice and that both the ice room and root cellar maintain a temperature in the 50s. I store water in the room and we have running water in there.

Most of my life the room was used for slaughtering animals, but I am starting to wonder if, with proper lighting, it might not be a better place to put my flock for the winter. I live in New England, and it is very cold. Eggs and water are freezing.

I don't know if it's healthy to house chickens in a root cellar type room, but am sure that the extreme cold is probably not that much better.

Any thoughts?

2. HooverHenHouse

HooverHenHouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2012
    Michigan
    My thoughts are the lack of fresh air would be worse than the cold, right now its 15° F, and i have my chickens in a coop with it ventailted..but they are out of wind and a breeze and all are healthy.

Im not sure if winters are harder there, or if my thoughts are even valid..

3. HooverHenHouse

HooverHenHouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2012
    Michigan
    Also, if it gets to cold i suspend a heat lamp from the ceiling, but only if it drops into single digits.