Wintering My ducks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by September, Oct 15, 2013.

1. September

September Out Of The Brooder

Sep 25, 2013
    I am hoping someone else who has cold winters might be able to help me out. I live in colorado and it can get really cold at night during the winter. I was wondering if I should consider a heat lamp, or something else for them at night?? I've had chickens on and off for years and we've mostly figured out what they need over the winter, but I'm new to ducks.

How cold would it have to be for it to be necessary for me to do something to keep my ducks (and goose) warm? They have a dog house that they go into at night, but as they wanted to eat the insulation when we first got it, it is no longer insulated (not because they ate it, but because we took it out).

There are three ducks (2 cambells and 2 Cayugas) and one Buff Goose.

Any advise would be wonderful. :)

2. AmandaVirus

AmandaVirus Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2013
    Humboldt County, CA
    Ducks and geese are very cold hardy (think about a down blanket, they're covered in one 24/7), as long as they have a nice dry spot away from wind and snow, they'll be fine. But they will probably prefer being out in the snow, I've heard a lot of ducks love it (I live on the coast of California, so no snow for us).

I've actually heard heat lamps can make them intolerant of cold weather, like if a power outage happened and they didn't have the heat they were used to, they could get too cold.

3. Going Quackers

Going Quackers Overrun With Chickens

May 24, 2011
    On, Canada
    Well i know winter, I'm Canadian lol