Wobbly chick

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by rosawoodsii, Apr 13, 2009.

1. rosawoodsii

rosawoodsii Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2009
    First, an introduction. I'm not new to chickens, but new to raising chicks. My mother has done it for years, and rarely lost a bird. I have lots of experience raising horses, but these are definitely not the same. [​IMG] Since my mother is now 87, she doesn't want the hassle of raising chicks any more. (Can't blame her there!)

I love the sight of hens running around with their chicks, and I think hens are probably much better mothers than we are, so after some investigation, decided to get some chickens that are noted for broodiness.

I just got four new chicks last week, 2 Buff Orpingtons, one Cochin, and one Black Austrolorp. For the first couple days I fed them ground up egg layer crumble and finally got the chick starter feed yesterday. I've also chopped up some mixed organic lettuce and spinach and put it in there, but they haven't really shown much interest in that. Three of the chicks are doing very well, but this morning the little Chochin is wobbly and lethargic, doesn't seem to want to eat or drink.. She'll even fall over on her side and not be able to get up. BTW, she's the smallest of the chicks.

After reading the FAQ's, I did realize that they may not be as warm as they should be, so I'll do something about that right away.

I've done a search on the forums for wobbly chicks, but didnt find anything that really tells me what I need to know. Can anyone tell me what this is and what I need to do to turn this around? Can I feed her something with a dropper? Any homeopathic remedies someone would recommend? Her eyes are almost closed now, and I'm holding her to keep her warm, but I'm afraid it may be too late.

Last edited: Apr 13, 2009
  2. addicted2chicks

addicted2chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 19, 2009
    Michigan