Wobbly Hen

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Laxlesley, Aug 13, 2011.

1. Laxlesley

Laxlesley New Egg

Aug 13, 2011
    My girls had an encounter with a bear about 3 weeks ago, and we put in the garage in a fairly large pen (4 of them) for about 2 weeks. One of the hens had a bunch of the feathers ripped out, and was fairly stunned, but no bleeding or anything else. They are now back in their large coop and hen house, but I noticed 2 days ago that one of the girls is having a really hard time walking and Im pretty sure its the one who got her feathers pulled. She rocks back and forth on her feet like she is super off balance. She still gets up and walks around, eats, and drinks. She looks like shes drunk and either runs really fast or just kinda stands like shes trying to get her balance and then lays down. She is about 2 months old. [​IMG] Any Ideas on what she has? Im new to having chickens so any ideas on what I can do with her and how I can help her would be very helpful!!!!
    Thanks!!
    New chicken owner, Lesley

2. Whiskey Bay

Whiskey Bay Chillin' With My Peeps

It's quite possible that she has a sort of inner ear infection. We've prescribed Clavamox and/or amoxi to help with this. However,it's possible to have a chemical imbalance causing this. Again all together could be disease related. Have you examined her eyes? Are they dilated? do they set still or do they move? If so,is it a flitter or back and forth.Any discolorations in the eyes? Is this a new feed? or new bag of feedd? Notice any smell,discoloration,or other problem with the feeds? How's her poop look?

3. Laxlesley

Laxlesley New Egg

Aug 13, 2011
    Thank you soooooo much for your reply!

Have you examined her eyes? Are they dilated? do they set still or do they move? If so,is it a flitter or back and forth.Any discolorations in the eyes?
    - Her eyes do look dilated, but They arent flittering at all, and dont look discolored.