Won't come inside...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by TheSimpsons, Apr 27, 2017.

1. TheSimpsons

TheSimpsons New Egg

Apr 27, 2017
    I'm new to this chicken farming so I thought I'd ask vs assuming I could pick through these forums for someone asking the same question...

Live in Iowa...so our weather swings are pretty drastic. 2 days ago, 73 and sunny, this morning's wind chill is 28. I have 6 chickens, 5 weeks old, and I have a 4x5 coop with a secure pen underneath. As some in these forums say, I "fort knox'd" my pen under the hen house. I have a heat lamp back in the corner of the coop and their food and water is in the coop as well. But these things insist on being outside...ALL THE TIME! It's cold out there this morning and they're all huddled in the corner of the coop (I have a wind break on the north side of the coop) vs. being in the nice warm coop. I don't think I'm necessarily concerned about them freezing to death as I think most any animal's instinct to live would kick in to get in the coop...BUT...maybe I'm wrong? Also, when I had them in the brooding tank, they ate / drank noticeably on a daily basis...but I don't think the food or water (which is inside the hen house) looks like it's been touched since I put them out there 3 days ago...certainly not as much as when they were in the brooder tank. AND I put some treats in the hen house when I took them out there.

Yesterday it was cool and windy out so I picked each one up and put them in the warm coop, with food, water and treats. 5 minutes later they are all back outside. So I'm going to say they've not been back in that hen house since I put them out there except for the 2x I actually put them inside.