Wood bedding...

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Jayceekurek, Feb 27, 2014.

1. Jayceekurek

Jayceekurek Out Of The Brooder

Feb 20, 2014
    Enterprise
    I brought my baby chicks home today, I really wanted them to be comfortable so I had pine bedding already in their brooder. Well of course an hour after I get home with them I read that they have a tendency to eat the pine bedding and it can kill them. I rushed downstairs and took all the pine out and replaced it with newspaper. You don't think that I have inadvertently killed any of them by having the bedding in there, even though it was only for an hour...

This is my first time with chicks and I really just want to do everything right...

2. Britalican

Britalican New Egg

Feb 26, 2014
    Eugene, Oregon
    I am new to this as well and did a lot of reading on many sites before I brought mine home today. A lot of people on here seam to use pine chips right away, or just cover the shavings with newspaper on top at first. I have read in a lot of books though that newspaper is very bad and can cause splayed legs because it is slippery. I have a bunch of crumpled up paper towels as bedding in mine as it is grippy for them and can easily be removed and replaced as they poop on it. so far they seem to be happy with this set up.

Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
  3. fluffpuffgerbil

fluffpuffgerbil Chillin' With My Peeps

I got my first chicks a few weeks ago and had them on pine shavings from the start. They're all fine and I've read other people had them on them from the start without issue

4. henless

henless Chillin' With My Peeps

What kind of bedding did the store have them on? Do you know how old they are?