1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

words of encouragement needed

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by paynesgrae, Apr 2, 2012.

1. paynesgrae

paynesgrae Out Of The Brooder

Mar 1, 2012
    I know to wait but it is sooo hard. This is my first time having chickens. Last month I got 4 beautiful healthy friendly chicks who are thriving and are 6, 7, 8, and 9 weeks old. But I fell in love with Sebrights and can not find chicks anywhere near me. soooo...

On March 4th I ordered 6 Silver Sebright eggs from Ebay. On the 6th a friend loaned me her hovabator and I immediately got it up a running. On the 7th the eggs arrived. Seven SS eggs all but one were in great shape. The one that wasn't had a huge indent and cracks but the membrane looked okay so I plopped in the egg turner just to see.

At first everything was going great until day 4 and the temperature no longer wanted to stay at 99.5 It kept going down to 98. If I turned it up it wanted to skip 99, 100, 101, and 102 and go to 103. So I took a chance and stuck with 98. At one week I candled and had what looked like three unfertilized and 4 little kicking chicks. YAY! I candled again on the second week. Still three empty eggs. Two of the eggs were squirming around but the last two although bigger were now cloudy and had a blood ring around them. BOOO! Left them all in just in case. I think it has to do with the repair man we had over. He kept leaving the door open. After he left I about died when I saw the bater had dropped down to 80. Day 15 No eggs are moving, freak out, buy more eggs off of ebay, hop on here and find out it happens sometimes. Whew! Still can't sleep though get up at 2am and candle again. MOVEMENT! Yay and sleep.