Worm Control for egg laying hens

jmass

In the Brooder
12 Years
Aug 29, 2007
Marion
I was wondering if DE is all that is needed for worm control in laying hens. I have a liquid wormer that can be mixed in the drinking water but then you can not keep the eggs for a few weeks after deworming. So I really dont want to use the liquid. I am currently just adding DE to the feed every month or so. Do you think DE alone is all that is needed?

thumbsup.gif

It's not a good idea to worm just for the heck of it. It stresses the hen's and is not needed unless you have some reason to believe they have worms.
There is a different treatment for different kinds of worms anyway.

Go to search and type in worms and you will get lots of info.

Good luck

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm in my first year of having chickens and am still learning. What is DE? A neighbor gave me some wazine that I used early on but no that I'm getting eggs I don't want to use it.

The most common is the round worm, and you can see them wiggling in fresh chicken poo. They're long, thin, white worms. Nasty little buggers.

Also check to see if the combs of your chickens are bright red or pale. A pale comb is an indication of worms.

I started adding a teaspoon full of apple cider vinegar to each gallon of drinking water. It's supposed to change the PH level of the digestive tract and make it less hospitable to worms. Some people use it for horses too.

Can't promise that it works, but haven't seen round worms since I've been using it.

Kathy in Texas