1. frstchknz

frstchknz In the Brooder

Mar 16, 2011
    I have 8 hens (7 mos old) and one of them seems to be sick. She stands off to the side, has no interest in the corn treat that I give them in the morning, her comb has gone limp and is hanging off to the side. She was sleeping in the nesting box at night for a while, but then would get up and go outside with the others for the day. Last night she apparently spent the night on the floor under the roost. She was covered with poo and she is very lathargic. I separated her from the others and gave her her own little corner in the coop. From what I've read on here I'm thinking she has worms. I really don't know. If she has worms, should I worm everyone?? or can I just worm her? The others seem very healthy and happy, going about their usual daily antics. What should I use to worm her? I'm new at this and really have no idea about de-wormers for chickens. I know if I use de-wormers I will have to throw away the eggs for a while, this is why I was asking if I should do them all? or should I wait to see if any others show signs? I plan to keep her separated until she gets better, or if I just worm her then I will keep her separated until her eggs are safe to eat... am I doing the right thing?
    I appreciate all your help.
    thanks.

2. dawg53

dawg53 Humble Premium Member

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    I suspect she might be eggbound since you stated she was sleeping in the nest box. Try soaking her in a container of warm water, with the water up to her sides. Gently massage her underside front to rear for about 20 minutes. The warm water will expand her innards and massaging should help the egg move along. You can put some olive oil just inside her vent, making it easier for her to lay the egg. You can repeat soaking as necessary. Keep an eye on her poop for anything out of the ordinary.

3. frstchknz

frstchknz In the Brooder

Mar 16, 2011