Worms and Chickens

flockof4

Songster
9 Years
Feb 10, 2010
Webster Groves, MO
I am still in my first year of keeping chickens and I am wondering if I need to treat my hens for worms. I have a small flock, just four birds, and they all seem healthy, but egg production has definitely dropped over the past month. They are around 10 months old and have not been treated for worms before. I have read a number of threads on here about worming and still can't make up my mind whether or not to give my girls the chemicals. It seems like this would be the time to do it, since we wouldn't have to throw out as many eggs. I'm curious about taking stool samples to the vet to find out for sure whether or not they have worms. Any advice would be appreciated.

If you have access to a vet that will test some samples for a reasonable fee that is likely a very good route to go.

Chances are just about any chicken that has access to bare ground will get at least a few worms.

If you do an ongoing worm prevention, garlic, cayane pepper, pumpinseeds, pinapple leaves or what ever maybe that would be enough to keep worms at bay, but if you don't these prevention measures won't rid infested chickens of worms.

Egg drop may be just to do with molting, reduced light ect and not in any way related to worms.

If you opt for worming with traditional commercial wormers then the reduced egg lay will mean tossing fewer eggs. Some wormers though may not be best durring molt, I think fenbendazole which I use can cause feather growth problems if used durring molt.

Wazine 17 is usually the first wormer used aimed at getting round worms, it is also pretty much an organic compound though it may be produced synthetically.