Worms and other pests

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by BamaSilkies, Dec 1, 2011.

1. BamaSilkies

BamaSilkies Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 28, 2011
    NE Alabama
    I am a new member hear so I have been checking out some of other posts. I made a few comments but I noticed that a lot of them had to do with the same type of thing. I have seen several solutions for the same problem but the solution seems to create another problem. I would like to share my story and possible help some other people out too.

I'm new to raising chickens. My husband purchased some chickens for me. They were mixed breed I only wanted them for the eggs not to raise chicks so it was no importance the breed I mean. A couple of days after I got them( the middle of summer here in the south) I noticed that they were sneezing. Then shortly after they started loosing weight, they eating the same. They also had watery poop. I did some research that only confused me more. They had symptoms of about 80% of the known chicken diseases. I was ready to cry. I purchased dewormer and antibiotic. I immediately dewormed them and then put them on the antibiotics for 2 wks as the vet had instructed. I had several die before the 2 wks was up and then a few more after that. I went back to the internet and researched some more. I found an ad on craigslist that saved the rest of my chickens. I purchased a product called DE(Diatomatious Earth 100% pure FOOD GRADE, not the stuff at Lowes) I immediately mixed to 5% to feed. The very next morning, even though I had seen no visible sign, the little culprits were. Where the chickens had roosted the night before was a bloody clump. I took a stick a searched it, it had a large clump of DEAD round worms. I use this stuff to dust my chickens, dog, coop, nest boxes and anything else I use it on. My chickens are healthy and perky and their feathers are brighter and shinier than ever. I cant tell you everything that kills so look it up on