Worms??? in egg? *gross pic*

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by gracejr, Dec 2, 2012.

1. gracejr

gracejr Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2012
    Maine
    My Coop
    What on earth is this? We have a new egg layer, I can't for the life of me figure out who it is. Thread on that here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/726898/whose-egg-is-this#post_10014376

Anyway, I cracked open the egg last night to see if maybe it was just a fart egg or something. This is what I saw... This stuff was all around the outside of the yolk, and there was something inside the yolk as well that looked the same. The egg was fresh yesterday, so I doubt it was an embryo. Plus, no blood vessels. Another suggestion I got on FB was chalaza, but I thought that was just the two tiny bits on the ends that hold the yolk? The only thing I could think of was worms, but wouldn't a wormy egg indicate a *very* sick chicken? I'm still new to the chicken thing, but everybody appears healthy to my eye. What on earth is this? (Also, if you can help me figure out WHO is laying this, it would be appreciated! Got another one today, though I haven't opened it yet)

[​IMG]

2. Azriel

Azriel Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 19, 2010
    Montana
    Looks like a tape worm to me. Did it have what looked like segments, or was it just 1 long strand? It might not hurt to worm the flock, but i really wouldn't know how a worm would get inside of an egg.

3. gracejr

Mar 31, 2012
    Maine
    My Coop
    It seemed like one continuous thing, for the most part, not segmented, and no tapering at either end that I could tell. I had to stop examining it though because it was grossing me out.

4. my sunwolf

my sunwolf Chillin' With My Peeps