Worried about Buffy

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Hollypop, Nov 7, 2014.

1. Hollypop

Hollypop New Egg

Nov 7, 2014
    Hi all,

I'm new to chicken keeping, and to this site. I'm really hoping somebody can give me some advice. We bought 2 lovely penciled Wyandotte bantams a few weeks ago, and 2 weeks ago, Buffy went broody. She refused to leave the nest box, and was extremely puffed up and angry, so we were pretty sure. After about a week of turfing her out into the garden and hoping she'd snap out of it, we decided to try a wire bottomed broody cage during the day. At night, she is allowed back in the coop with her friend, as it's starting to get chilly!

So, she's been in the broody cage for a 5-6 days and it doesn't seem to be making much difference. She does look miserable though! I took pity on her today and let her out to free range with her friend. She's still fussing a bit trying to get into the coop, but does seem to be enjoying a leg stretch and is distracted a bit by pecking around.

Thing is, today, I noticed her behaviour seems to have changed. She's still grumpy / shouty / puffed up, but her tail is drooping (this is something I actually noticed a few days ago, but seems worse today). Also, she's taken to picking up sticks / bits of garden stuff, and rubbing them on her back?! Her droppings also aren't as solid as usual, and she does seem to be passing a lot of small droppings... although that may just be my imagination.

Is it possible that she's not just broody, but also sick? She seems quite happy in the garden, and I wonder if it's just misery from being shut in the wire cage. I'm really worried about her :(

2. ChickenPox

ChickenPox Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 2, 2011
    Middle GA