Worried about newly hatched chicks

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by nlayfield, Dec 17, 2011.

1. nlayfield

nlayfield New Egg

Dec 15, 2011
    Louisiana
    This is my first time hatching and last night my husband and I noticed that one chick had pipped on the small end of the shell and it was face down. my husband read on how to help the chick zip and so we carefully did that. However, now the chick seems to be lathargic, just laying there and not making any attempt to move around. It's been 7 hours since we helped zip the shell. I'm afraid it's not going to make it. Is there anything I can do to help it?

2. sonew123

sonew123 Poultry Snuggie

Mar 16, 2009
    onchiota NY
    Quote:Yes,

Let nature take its course..Stay out of the bator..sit on your hands... clean..whatever but don't go back in it...There's a reason for everything-there's a reason they aren't hatching or cant hatch on its own-it could be deformities-weak-runted-stunted etc.. I have learned through MANY hatches DONT interveine...Anytime I did...I paid for it emotionally because when examining the chicks-they were in bad health-deformed etc...they would not have lived beyond a few days or I had a bunch of handicappers I tried to "save" only to have to put them down myself:9 That's even worse. Leave it be...If it hatches on its own then great:) What day are these eggs on? what are you hatching?

Last edited: Dec 17, 2011
  3. nlayfield

nlayfield New Egg

Dec 15, 2011
    Louisiana