worried about one of my babies

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mrsTpratt, Sep 23, 2012.

1. mrsTpratt

mrsTpratt Out Of The Brooder

Sep 16, 2012
    Southern Oregon
    i have 2 sliver laced that i've had for 4 days, i got them the first day grange co-op had them delivered, i'm not really sure at how many days old they get them though so i don't know their for sure age. my guess is maybe 6 days old. they don't have any feathers yet, all fuzz still. the reason i'm worried is because i've never seen one of them eat. she seems to sleep 90% of the time. i've seen her drink a bit, but never peck at food. i have seen her peck at the pine shavings or at a spot on something. i have them in a brooder with my 8 RIRs that are about 3 weeks old. the other silver laced runs around with the others a bit and i've even seen her peck food out of their mouths. i'm hoping the sleeper is just sleeping because of age and not sick. i'm really new at all this and learning as i go. dose this sound normal?

2. Fur & Feathers

Fur & Feathers Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 7, 2011
    cheshire
    My Coop
    hi,
    chicks are just like human babies; they sleep alot.
    check their bums to make sure there are no lumps of poo plugging them up-this is a good article [including tutorial videos and pictures] to read up on 'pasty butt' and how to deal with the problem-
    http://chickenjunkie.com/raising-chickens/baby-chicks-with-pasty-butts/

are they definitely pine shavings?
    swap them as soon as possible to another dust extracted shaving as the oils in pine wood causes respiratory problems in animals including chickens.

3. kdwag

kdwag Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2012
    Northwest Ohio