1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Worried My Eggs Have Failed

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Sunnyducks, Aug 31, 2016.

1. Sunnyducks

Sunnyducks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2016
    I'm nearly at the end of Day 21, and there's no sign of a pip in any of my twelve eggs. I'm not very good at candling, at lockdown I would say most of them didn't have a chick, some I'm not sure about, three I was really hopeful as they looked really dark and full up. They were all like that 3 days earlier. There's no smell. I was sold the eggs by a lovely lady, but they were very dirty. I was probably a bit too timid, just paid up and left :( She said she's never had a problem and never cleans them. I'd never have been able to get the muck off them tbh, they've got do-do all over them and rock hard. She sells to lots of local people and I've not seen a complaint so I think it must be me. The diet plus speckly eggs was part of the problem not being able to see inside. I've just hatched three ducklings from ducks out of six, but then these aren't ducks! Any thoughts gratefully received

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    21 days is just a guide so there is still hope. Also if your temps have been a little on the low side this can slow hatch down. Have your temps been OK during incubation? What do you have your humidity at right now?

Fingers crossed they are just slow to hatch and you have some action soon :fl

3. Sunnyducks

May 1, 2016
    Hi, @Yorkshire Coop