Would appreciate critiques of our silkies **PICS**

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Three Cedars Silkies, Jun 11, 2009.

1. I hatched these for my daughters grandmother. Since these are our first silkies I have limited knowledge about evaluating them for quality. Now I can tell you a bunch about bantam cochins....but silkies???

Please don't hesitate to tell it like it is but if you do see some good qualities, I would appreciate your pointing that out as well.

Edited to add: These babies are 5 months old

[​IMG]

Splash Cockerel

[​IMG]

Splash Pullet

[​IMG]

White cockerel

[​IMG]

White pullet

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 11, 2009
  2. sonew123

sonew123 Poultry Snuggie

Mar 16, 2009
    onchiota NY
    I dont know alot about silkies -all though I have a bunch right now-less than a month old-but yours sure are purdy! specially the white pullet!!!!

3. jimnjay

jimnjay Songster

Jan 11, 2007
    Bryant Alabama
    I am the worst judge ever. I know what looks good but I have a problem identifying each trait individually. I really like the Splash Roo he looks very typey, nice cushion and crest. His wing is possibly a bit ragged and carried a bit low. I like the mixture of darks and lights but I am not sure if the dark should be a bit more wide spread in smaller doses or not. I really like the way he looks. The Splash Pullet is a very pretty thing, most breeding for show would want to see a larger crest. I personally like them just the way her's is. The standard calls for a medium crest and that is how I see your girl.